Nanocellulose material for science, medizine, and technics

As the most important skeletal component in plants, the polysaccharide cellulose is an almost inexhaustible polymer raw material with a fascinating structure and property potential. Formed by the repeated connection of D-glucose building blocks, the highly functionalized, linear stiff-chain homopolymer cellulose is characterized by its hydrophilicity, chirality, biodegradability, broad chemical modifying capacity, and its formation of versatile semicrystalline fiber morphologies. The biosynthesis of cellulose takes place not only in plants, but also in bacteria. This bacterial cellulose differs clearly from cellulose of plant origin.

With the worldwide strong expanding interdisciplinary research and product development in the field of cellulose in mind POLYMET Jena is active on the current state of knowledge on structure and chemistry of cellulose as well as its application in science, technology, and medicine. Polymeric materials of this kind gain broad application in the field of new materials and in medicine because of advanced possibilities regarding the design of molecular and supramolecular structures as well as their analysis.

The focus area of bacterial synthesized nanocellulose makes an important contribution to the development of new biomaterials.


shaped body of BNC-hydrogel - 1% cellulose, 99% water
shaped body of BNC-hydrogel - 1% cellulose, 99% water
image of a freece-dried BNC network by means of scanning electron microscopy
image of a freece-dried BNC network by means of scanning electron microscopy
image of a never-dried BNC network by means of laser scanning microscopy
image of a never-dried BNC network by means of laser scanning microscopy

Bacterial nanocellulose (BNC)

The combination of the valuable properties of cellulose with the characteristics of nanoscale materials imparts BNC a specific and unique property profile.

  • ultrapure homopolymer
  • 1% nanocellulose is able to bind 99% water as a dimensionally stable hydrogel
  • mechanical properties of the single fibers correspond to steal and Kevlar
  • microscopic investigations show the three-dimensional hierarchically constructed fiber network, similar to endogenous tissue, e.g. collagen
  • nanofiber network is permeable for liquids, ions, and small molecules, furthermore its water supply can be regulated by partially drying
  • biocompatible and can be colonized by cells

In contrast to plant cellulose, mainly isolated from wood, BNC is synthesized from glucose by a biotechnological process with the help of acetic acid bacteria. Therefore, the biofabrication can be directly controlled, regarding both product shape and properties-determining structure. So BNC films, spherical particles, and hollow bodies of nearly any dimension can be produced. From these hydrogels aerogels, organogels, and xerogels are available. Besides these shaped bodies BNC can be achieved in form of fiber suspensions and nonwovens.

Nanocellulosematerial für Wissenschaft, Medizin und Technik

Als wichtigster Gerüstbildner der Pflanzenwelt ist das Polysaccharid Cellulose ein nahezu unerschöpflicher polymerer Rohstoff mit einem faszinierenden Struktur- und Eigenschaftspotential. Durch reguläre Verknüpfung von D-Glucosebausteinen gebildet, zeichnet sich das hochfunktionalisierte, lineare und kettensteife Homopolymer Cellulose durch Hydrophilie, Chiralität, Bioabbaubarkeit, breite chemische Modifizierbarkeit und den Aufbau vielfältiger teilkristalliner Fasermorphologien aus. Die Biosynthese von Cellulose erfolgt nicht nur in Pflanzen, sondern auch mit Hilfe von Bakterien. Diese Bakteriencellulose unterscheidet sich deutlich von Cellulose pflanzlichen Ursprungs.

Mit Blick auf die weltweit stark expandierende interdisziplinäre Forschung und Produktentwicklung auf dem Cellulosegebiet beschäftigt sich POLYMET Jena mit dem aktuellen Wissensstand zu Struktur und Chemie der Cellulose sowie ihre Applikation in Wissenschaft, Technik und Medizin. Polymerwerkstoffe dieser Art gewinnen durch die fortgeschrittenen Möglichkeiten des Designs molekularer und supramolekularer Strukturen sowie deren Analytik  breite Anwendung im Bereich neuer Materialien und in der Medizin.

Dabei wird mit der Schwerpunktbildung zu bakteriell synthetisierter Nanocellulose ein Beitrag für die Entwicklung neuer Biomaterialien geleistet.


BNC-Hydrogel-Formkörper - 1% Cellulose, 99% Wasser
BNC-Hydrogel-Formkörper - 1% Cellulose, 99% Wasser
Aufnahme des gefrierge- trockneten BNC-Netzwerkes mit Hilfe eines Rasterelektronenmikroskops
Aufnahme des gefrierge- trockneten BNC-Netzwerkes mit Hilfe eines Rasterelektronenmikroskops
Aufnahme des nicht-getrockneten BNC-Netzwerkes mit Hilfe eines Laserscanningmikroskops
Aufnahme des nicht-getrockneten BNC-Netzwerkes mit Hilfe eines Laserscanningmikroskops

Bakterielle Nanocellulose (BNC)

Die Verknüpfung der wertvollen Eigenschaften der Cellulose mit den Charakteristika nanoskaliger Materialien verleiht der BNC ein spezifisches und einzigartiges Eigenschaftsprofil:

  • hochreines Homopolymer
  • 1% Nanocellulose binden 99% Wasser als formstabiles Hydrogel
  • mechanische Eigenschaften der Einzelfasern entsprechen denen von Stahl und Kevlar
  • mikroskopische Untersuchungen zeigen, dass die BNC aus einem dreidimensionalen hierarchisch aufgebautem Fasernetzwerk besteht, damit ähnelt ihre Struktur der von körpereigenem Gewebe wie z.B. Kollagen
  • Nanofasernetzwerk ist durchlässig für Flüssigkeiten, Ionen und kleine Moleküle und durch partielles Trocknen in seinem Wasserhaushalt regulierbar
  • bioverträglich und wird von lebenden Zellen besiedelt

Im Gegensatz zu pflanzlichen Cellulosen, die hauptsächlich aus Holz isoliert werden, wird BNC in einem biotechnologischen Prozess mit Hilfe von Essigsäurebakterien aus Traubenzucker aufgebaut. Dadurch kann die Biofabrikation unmittelbar gesteuert werden, sowohl hinsichtlich der Produktgestalt als auch der eigenschaftsbestimmenden Struktur. So lassen sich BNC-Filme, sphärische Partikel und Hohlkörper nahezu beliebiger Abmessung herstellen. Aus diesen Hydrogelen sind Aerogele, Organogele und Xerogele zugänglich. Neben diesen Formkörpern kann die BNC auch in Form von Fasersuspensionen und Nonwovens gewonnen werden.